Filter
Reset
Sort ByRelevance
vegetarianvegetarian
Reset
  • Ingredients
  • Diets
  • Allergies
  • Nutrition
  • Techniques
  • Cuisines
  • Time
Without


Quitting dairy and eggs - How and why?

  1. There are several reasons not to eat dairy and / or eggs, for example an allergy, vegan food, or because you don't like it. But really cutting all dairy from your diet can sometimes be difficult. Many processed products contain some form of dairy or egg, for example in powder form. So what are some of the reasons for not eating dairy and / or eggs anymore, and how best to do that.

Reasons to Go Dairy Free

  1. If you are allergic to lactose or anything else that is in dairy, you better not eat dairy. For some people the allergy is less severe than for others, so some people can tolerate small amounts of dairy, and others nothing at all. So make sure you know to what extent you can or cannot handle dairy, so that you can take this into account. You can also be hypersensitive to dairy, but not allergic. This means that you do not have typical allergy symptoms, but that you can suffer from stomach pain after eating dairy, for example. Also find out if you are only allergic or hypersensitive to, for example, cow's milk, or whether it also applies to goat's and sheep's milk.

Read labels carefully

  1. If you don't eat dairy and eggs, then you know you shouldn't buy milk, yogurt, cheese and eggs. But there are also a lot of products that contain dairy that you might not expect. For example, many types of chips contain whey powder, and this is made from milk. Depending on how strict you are with dairy, you will have to learn to read food labels carefully. Only things you might find on labels derived from milk include lactose, casein, caseinate, whey powder, whey, curd, and anything that contains the word milk.

Eating out dairy-free

  1. When you go out for dinner, you have to be careful that you order the right dishes. Many vegetarian dishes contain cheese or eggs, so they are not dairy-free. So read the menu carefully before you place your order, but also remember that dairy can be used in the preparation of a dish without it being mentioned on the menu. Many sauces contain butter and or milk, baking and grilling vegetables, meat or fish can be done with butter. So before ordering, ask your waiter how a dish is prepared and whether it contains dairy or not. Especially if you are really allergic, it is very important to report this, so that the cook can take this into account. Many dishes that contain dairy can also be adapted well so that they are still dairy-free. For example, the cheese can be omitted from a salad, or a dressing can be made that is not based on mayonnaise or yogurt. It can be fried and roasted in oil instead of butter, a dairy based sauce can be replaced with another sauce or omitted. Don't be afraid to ask your waiter about this.

Some replacements for dairy and eggs

  1. When cooking at home it is quite easy to make your food dairy free. Many recipes that have milk, butter, or eggs on their ingredient list are easy to modify. Here is a short list of some things that are easy to replace:

Milk

  1. There are many different types of plant-based milk, such as soy milk, almond milk, hazelnut milk, rice milk, and many more. Chocolate milk is also available vegetable, and there are also other flavors such as almond coconut milk, soy milk with strawberry or banana flavor and much more. These different types of milk can all be used as a substitute for cow's milk, for example in pie and cake recipes, for the oatmeal, in your pancake batter and much more.

Whipped cream

  1. Soy cream, cream based on rice milk for soups and sauces, or whip up some coconut milk foam to whipped cream to decorate your cake.

Cheese

  1. There are different types of vegan cheeses available at health food stores and specialty stores. There is much more to order online. You can also make a dairy-free "cheese" sauce quite easily yourself using cashew nuts and nutritional yeast (google for recipes).

Butter

  1. Vegetable butter is available, as well as soy-based butter.

Eggs

  1. If you like scrambled eggs then this is quite easy and very tasty to copy with soy (google for a good recipe). To replace eggs in batter and baked goods, you can use mashed banana, soaked flaxseeds, or a vegan powder to replace eggs (dilute with water, and available at health food stores).

Chocolate

  1. Dark chocolate does not contain milk. If you don't like dark chocolate, there are also lactose-free chocolate bars available in most supermarkets.



Donate - BNB: bnb16ghhqcjctncdczjpawnl36jduaddx5l4eysm5c