Filter
Reset
Sort ByRelevance
vegetarianvegetarian
Reset
  • Ingredients
  • Diets
  • Allergies
  • Nutrition
  • Techniques
  • Cuisines
  • Time
Without


How can I eat healthy vegan food?

  1. As a vegan you don't take any animal products at all. So no meat, fish, dairy, eggs and E numbers of animal origin. If you want to eat vegan, you pay particular attention to whether you are getting enough protein, iron, vitamins B1, B2, vitamin B12 and calcium. These are nutrients that you find in animal products and that you have to get from somewhere else.

  2. As a vegan you don't take any animal products at all. So no meat, fish, dairy, eggs and E numbers of animal origin. If you want to eat vegan, you pay special attention to whether you are getting enough protein, iron, vitamins B1, B2, vitamin B12 and calcium. These are nutrients that you find in animal products and that you have to get from somewhere else.

Sources of protein, iron, B1 and B2

  1. As a vegan you can get protein, iron, B1 and B2 from: Legumes, such as kidney beans, chickpeas and lentils. Tofu and tempeh. Nuts, peanuts, kernels or seeds. Some ready-to-eat vegetarian pieces, balls and burgers. Pay attention to the label as it may contain milk or egg. Also pay attention to whether iron has been added and preferably vitamin B12. One last point of attention: choose the least salty variety. If it contains less than 1.1 grams of salt, it is stated in the Wheel of Five. To get enough nutrients, it is advisable to choose something from this list every day. We recommend that you take a hand every day anyway. As a vegan you can take an extra hand a few days a week.

Sources of Calcium

  1. Plant-based alternatives to milk You should replace calcium and vitamin B12 in particular if you do not consume dairy products, such as milk and cheese. The amount of dairy that we recommend in the Wheel of Five for you can be replaced by plant-based alternatives to milk, such as soy drinks. There are also vegetable alternatives to yogurt and desserts. Pay close attention to whether vitamin B12 and calcium has been added. Vegetables, nuts and legumes Vegetables, nuts and legumes also contain calcium. To reach the recommended amount of calcium of 1000 milligrams per day, you would have to eat a lot of it. You can also use these products in addition to vegetable alternatives to milk. To give an idea: In vegetables, the amount of calcium varies from only 8 milligrams of calcium per 100 grams in bell pepper to 175 milligrams of calcium per 100 grams of cooked spinach. In nuts, the amount of calcium per 100 grams ranges from 44 milligrams in cashews to 283 milligrams in almonds. In legumes, the amount of calcium varies from 23 milligrams in lentils to 71 milligrams in cooked kidney beans. A calculation example: if you eat 300 grams of cooked spinach, 100 grams of almonds (4 hands) and 300 grams of cooked lentils (4 to 5 serving spoons) you will consume 877 milligrams of calcium.

  2. Plant-based alternatives to milk You should replace calcium and vitamin B12 in particular if you do not consume dairy products such as milk and cheese. The amount of dairy that we recommend in the Wheel of Five for you can be replaced by plant-based alternatives to milk, such as soy drinks. There are also vegetable alternatives to yogurt and desserts. Pay close attention to whether vitamin B12 and calcium has been added. Vegetables, nuts and legumes Vegetables, nuts and legumes also contain calcium. To reach the recommended amount of calcium of 1000 milligrams per day, you would have to eat a lot of it. You can also use these products in addition to vegetable alternatives to milk. To give an idea: In vegetables, the amount of calcium varies from just 8 milligrams of calcium per 100 grams in bell pepper to 175 milligrams of calcium per 100 grams of cooked spinach. In nuts, the amount of calcium per 100 grams ranges from 44 milligrams in cashews to 283 milligrams in almonds. In legumes, the amount of calcium varies from 23 milligrams in lentils to 71 milligrams in cooked kidney beans. A calculation example: if you eat 300 grams of cooked spinach, 100 grams of almonds (4 hands) and 300 grams of cooked lentils (4 to 5 serving spoons) you will get 877 milligrams of calcium.

Vitamin B12 and vegan food

  1. Vitamin B12 is naturally only found in animal products. If you don't take any animal products at all, you therefore need vitamin B12 pills or vitamin B12 fortified products, such as soy drink with added vitamin B12 and ready-to-eat vegetarian products with vitamin B12. Certain seaweeds contain a type of vitamin B12, but that variant is not active and your body does not absorb it properly. These seaweeds are therefore not a suitable source of vitamin B12.

  2. Vitamin B12 is naturally only found in animal products. If you do not take any animal products at all, you therefore need vitamin B12 pills or vitamin B12 enriched products, such as soy drink with added vitamin B12 and ready-to-eat vegetarian products with vitamin B12. Certain seaweeds contain a type of vitamin B12, but that variant is not active and your body does not absorb it properly. These seaweeds are therefore not a suitable source of vitamin B12.

Getting Enough Protein

  1. As a vegan you need 30% more protein than people who eat meat. This has to do with the difference between vegetable proteins and animal proteins. In addition, it is important to get protein from different sources. In addition to the mentioned alternatives to meat and milk, whole grain cereal products are an important source of protein. The combination is also important; legumes with grains is a golden combination. Read more about protein and vegan food.

Extra tips for iron

  1. 2 tips: 1. Eat fruits and vegetables with meals. It contains vitamin C, and that ensures that your body absorbs iron better. 2. In addition to the alternatives to meat, also eat other products with iron, such as: Vegetable. Especially green leafy vegetables, such as spinach, endive and lettuce Whole grain cereal products, such as whole wheat bread, whole grain breakfast cereals, whole grain couscous, bulgur, brown rice, and whole wheat pasta Seitan Potatoes

  2. 2 tips: 1. Eat vegetables and fruit with meals. It contains vitamin C, which ensures that your body absorbs iron better. 2. In addition to the alternatives to meat, eat other products with iron, such as: Vegetable. Especially green leafy vegetables, such as spinach, endive and lettuce Whole grain cereal products, such as whole wheat bread, whole grain breakfast cereals, whole grain couscous, bulgur, brown rice, and whole wheat pasta Seitan Potatoes

Sources of Vitamin D

  1. The body can produce vitamin D in the skin under the influence of sunlight. Vitamin D is also in food, especially in fatty fish and with lower levels in meat and eggs. In addition, vitamin D is added to low-fat margarine, margarine, baking and roasting products and some vegetable dairy substitutes. If you do not take many of these products, it can be useful to take a vitamin D supplement to prevent deficiencies. In supplements and products, the added vitamin D3 can come from sheepskin sebum. With The Vegan Society's VEG 1 supplements, vitamin D3 does not come from sheepskin sebum.

Risk of iodine deficiency

  1. Iodine is found in fish, eggs, dairy products, seaweed and in bread baked with iodized baker's salt. If you take little or no animal products and eat little or no bread or bread without iodized salt, such as a lot of organic bread or part of the home-baked bread, you have a greater risk of an iodine deficiency.

Vegan diet for children

  1. For children it is extra important to prevent deficiencies, because they are still growing. Do you not want to give your child any animal products to eat, including milk, cheese and eggs? Then give your child a vitamin B12 supplement and ask a pediatric dietitian for advice.

Pregnant

  1. If you are pregnant and eat little or no meat or fish, it is important to watch your vitamin B12 intake and supplement it with a vitamin B12 supplement. It is also important to ensure that your diet contains enough iron, calcium and iodine.

Vegan recipes

  1. Want to get inspired for vegan recipes? On our recipe site you can filter for vegetarian, egg-free and milk-free, leaving you with nearly 500 delicious vegan recipes.

Do you want to know if you are getting enough nutrients?

  1. Do you want to know if you are getting enough protein, iron, vitamin B1, B2, vitamin B12 and calcium? Then get started with the Eetmeter via My Nutrition Center or the app (via Google Play or App store). In this online food diary you keep track of what you eat and drink in a day. To see if you are getting enough, you have to fill in the Food Meter for several days. You can add which nutrients you want to keep an eye on via My Nutrition Center> My Diet Meter> Settings> Nutrients.

Do you think you have a shortage?

  1. Are you very tired, do you suffer from vertigo, palpitations or ringing in your ears, do you look pale, do you ever feel tingling in your fingers or do you suffer from muscle weakness? You may be deficient in iron or vitamin B12. A shortage of protein and vitamin B1 hardly occurs. If you suspect a deficiency, see your doctor. In any case, take a vitamin B12 supplement or use sufficiently fortified products every day and do not wait until you get complaints.

Gelatin

  1. Gelatin is an ingredient prepared from animal collagen. So if there is gelatin in the ingredients, it is of animal origin.

E numbers with animal origin

  1. In some cases, an E-number is made with substances from nature. These can be of vegetable but also animal origin. The red coloring agent cochineal extract (E120) and the glazing agent shellac (E904) are, for example, obtained from lice. The emulsifier lecithins (E322) can be obtained from the yolk of an egg. Various flavor enhancers such as guanylic acid (E626) and inosinic acid (E630) can be obtained from meat or sardines. Glycine and sodium glycinate (E640) is made from gelatin and offal. The sweetener lactitol (E966) is made from milk. Furthermore, vegetable fatty acids are almost always used for various antioxidants, emulsifiers and stabilizers, for example mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids (E471) and sucroglycerides (E 474), but these can also be of animal origin.



Donate - BNB: bnb16ghhqcjctncdczjpawnl36jduaddx5l4eysm5c